The Channel 46

Yoga Guru Paramita Singh Explains The Significance Of Surya Namaskar

Step 1: Pranamasana (Prayer Pose)

ॐ मित्राय नमः Oṃ Mitrāya Namaḥ (affectionate to all) 1. Stand upright and keep your feet together. 2. Balance your weight equally on both the feet. 3. Expand your chest and relax your shoulders. 4. Bring the palms to meet in the centre of your chest. 5. Relax the whole body and breath normally.

Step 2: Urdhva Hastasana (Raised Arms Pose)

ॐ रवये नमः Oṃ Ravaye Namaḥ (cause of all changes) 1. Breath in while gently lifting your arms in the backward direction, keeping the arms close to the ears. 2. Give a good stretch to your whole body.

Step 3: Padahastasana (Hand To Foot Pose)

ॐ सूर्याय नमः Oṃ Sūryāya Namaḥ (who is the dispeller of darkness and responsible for bringing activity) 1. While exhaling, bend forward from the waist, keeping the spine straight. 2. Try to touch your feet and head to the knee or just bend till whatever extent you can and keep your knees locked.

Step 4: Ashwa Sanchalanasana (Equestrian Pose)

ॐ भानवे नमः Oṃ Bhānave Namaḥ (who diffuses light) 1. Breathing in, push your right leg back, as far back as possible. 2. Bring the right knee to the floor and look up.

Step 5: Adho Mukha Svanasana (Mountain Pose)

ॐ खगाय नमः Oṃ Khagāya Namaḥ (who moves in the sky) 1. With exhalation lift your knees off the floor. 2. Lift the hips and the tail bone up, chest downwards. 3. The body should look like an ‘inverted V’ shape. 4. Try to touch your heels on the floor and make a gentle effort to push your hip up, going deeper into the stretch.

The Channel 46

Click Learn More to read the full article.