The Channel 46

7 UNESCO Natural World Heritage Sites In India

1. Great Himalayan National Park, Himachal Pradesh

Spread over an expanse of 1,171 sq. kms., the Great Himalayan National Park was constructed in 1984 in Himachal Pradesh. It made it to the list of the World Heritage Sites in 2014 owing to the extent of its natural beauty and the rich biological diversity that deserves to be preserved.

2. Kaziranga National Park, Assam

The Kaziranga National Park boasts of being inhabited by the world’s largest population of one-horned rhinoceros. The park was declared as a part of the World Heritage Sites way back in 1985. What’s more, it has also been recognised as a Tiger Reserve in 2006 as a result of its highest density of tigers.

3. Keoladeo National Park, Rajasthan

Formerly known as Bharatpur Bird Sanctuary, a fascinating variety of 360 species of birds find their home under the dense foliages of the trees in this park. This wetland, which was once a hunting ground for Maharajas looking for a rich bounty of ducks, is man-made and is also man-managed. Protected since 1971, it was declared as a World Heritage Site in 1985.

4. Manas Wildlife Sanctuary, Assam

This is yet another wildlife sanctuary in India and the second one in Assam to have been recognised as a World Heritage Site in 1985. Perched along the foothills of the grand Himalayas, this sanctuary is a Project Tiger Reserve, an Elephant Reserve, and a Biosphere Reserve.

5. Nanda Devi & Valley Of Flowers National Park, Uttarakhand

The Valley of Flowers offers a mesmerising view of the surrounding meadows of the West Himalayas, where it is located. The breathtaking beauty of the mountain ranges is a sight to behold for nature lovers while the host of adventure sports makes it a perfect spot for those seeking some adrenaline rush.

6. Sundarbans National Park, West Bengal

Recognised as one of the few mangrove forests across the world and the only one in India, the Sundarban national park protects a wide variety of endangered animal species like Royal Bengal Tigers, reptiles like salt water crocodiles, aquatic mammals. It is one of the largest reserves for the Bengal Tiger.

7. Western Ghats, Multiple States

The Western Ghats, known as the Sahyadri mountain range, are sprawled over several states like Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, and Kerala. The mountain range runs parallel to the western coast of India, from where it gets its name. These ranges are even older than the massive Himalayas and have been declared as a World Heritage Site since 2012.

The Channel 46

Click Learn More To read the full article